The game-changing sponsor

The atrium of the Taylor Institute is saturated with the hum of discussion. Small group chatter, digital interactions, and the occasional rush of content spilling out of the workshop galleries. The melody from the piano interacts with the crowd. A different type of dialogue, bolstering the event’s creative culture. The atmosphere is charged with this year’s conference theme – “conversations that matter.”

Impactful mentoring and empowerment were reoccurring topics threaded through my conference experience. The plenary session, conversation cafes, and workshops sparked my curiosity – how can I be a better mentor? How can I be a better mentee? I reflected on my personal support network and thought about some of the pivotal moments in my career where my mentors challenged and changed me.

A few years ago, I attended an interdisciplinary luncheon focused on diversity and engagement. The folks around my table exchanged introductions and explained their interest in the session and how it applied to their daily work. When it was my turn, I expressed a few personal aspirations accompanied by some ideas to increase my exposure and further develop as a diversity champion. My comments prompted a more detailed discussion after the session with a senior leader who was sitting at my table. Later that day, he contacted my supervisor and expressed his support for my involvement in activities that would allow me to broaden my skillset and gain the exposure I desired. He identified with my passion for the subject and connected a potential opportunity with my career goals.

Contacting my supervisor only took a few minutes of the leader’s time. But those few minutes of sponsorship had a profound impact on my career. A nod from a respected leader earned buy-in from my immediate supervisor and colleagues and effectively granted permission for me to spend time developing a skillset outside of my core technical competencies.

It certainly helped that my sponsor had a large circle of influence, but you don’t have to be a senior leader to be an advocate. At the student level there is room to nominate colleagues for awards and to recognize outstanding contributions from peers, and even up the line from effective supervisors and leaders. A quick recommendation or introduction could establish a connection that becomes the foundation for great teaching, learning, or research. And a moment spent providing thoughtful feedback has the potential to change the way that someone thinks about their personal and professional development.

So thank you, to the sponsors and mentors who have shared their networks and resources with me and encouraged me to explore and take risks. I hope that I can give back to others with the same generosity and sincerity, because it has made all the difference to me on my journey.

© SF Jones, 2017

Inspired by my experience at the 2017 Conference on Postsecondary Learning and Teaching hosted by the Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning at the University of Calgary.

Leave a Reply

